Letter to my husband on his birthday

Marjan Arbab
2 min readJan 21, 2020

It is not the love, but the bonding and respect that I value most.

I would be honest here, as I write, this post is not to brag about you being 3,682 km away (Karachi-Bangkok) from me. It is also not a burst out of emotions about how much I miss you.

The mere words of “Happy birthday my love, I miss you a lot” won’t work out after having lived with you for 6 long years.

Because even if I don’t miss you, I still value your existence in my life.

Yet let me formally write to you (before the kids wake up)

Happy birthday and Thank you

Thank you, for accepting me, for whoever I am and for standing by my side to fulfil my desire of being an educated, forward-looking, progressive women who believes in independent thinking and self-sufficiency.

Thank you for enabling me to decide on my goals, career and equally demanding me to be there for you as a wife, mother and a family member that people can rely on. I thought it was unfair of you, never knowing that added more value of me in the clan.

You taught me patience, self-control and organizing skills the hard way. You challenged my nerves in terms of the amount of work I had to do in all the roles that…

--

--

Marjan Arbab

Writer by heart, blogger by passion, Instructional designer by innovation and product manager by profession